Super Special Super Power

daydreamSo, everybody, things have not turned out exactly as I pictured. When I was offered two jobs within two days the life that I pictured was quite different from how it has turned out. Of course, I knew that I would be working a lot, but somehow my brain did not reconcile that reality with my daydream. My then future roommate and I were rapturous (sorry, but since it’s been a while since I’ve written anything, my brain is exploding with all these awesome words which I simply must use!) with the exciting plans we were making about all the fun things we would do together, all the experiences we would have, and all of the changes we were going to make in our lives with the support of one another. Welp, soon after I moved in we both realized that all (or most) of our plans wouldn’t come to fruition.

Yes, I am a super girl. The mere fact that I work 17 hour days most of the time, and as yet have managed to do so without passing out and have only left work early once entitle me a cape. (Though, of course, I know that many people in America work just as much or longer hours without earning nearly what I do. Believe me, I am fully aware of how lucky I am, and that I am working so much out of choice and not need.) What are my superpowers, you ask? That’s simple! Naivete! Yes, I must have been so naive when I decided to work both jobs. I am doing so in order to pay off my student loans as soon as possible, as well as the other debt I accrued during my period of unemployment, and though I think in the long run it will be well worth it, it is starting to feel as though I’m not actually living. Strangely, I ‘lived’ more when I didn’t have a job!

My days normally consist of getting up and ready before my awesome roommate. We catch up in the 5 minutes before she gets in the shower. I leave for work #1, then go to work #2, and I get home after my roommate is in bed. I still have the daydreams of taking a yoga class, and a dancing class, and having all sorts of fun adventures on the weekends, but it’s looking more and more like that won’t happen for some time to come. For now, I’m being very un-Vagabond like, and am working hard at working. Hopefully, it will lead to  actually ‘living’ sooner then I think.

2 thoughts on “Super Special Super Power

Leave a Reply

