Supergirl with a Salary

Wonder Woman, Working Woman

That’s right, people. My cape is in the mail, and my first paycheck is on the way! Did my super professional nail polish make a difference? I hope not, cause I don’t plan on wearing it again anytime soon…not unless some glitter is involved. Nope, upon my first interview, I was told multiple times how impressive my resume was (talk about a much-needed confidence boost)! My second interview did nothing but cement my certainty of an upcoming job offer, and slowly my cloud of depression was lifting. Unfortunately, the offer was delayed for another two weeks due to some bureaucratic problems, and just as I was starting to look up the location of soup kitchens, I got a call from a coffee joint (I love me some coffee) and went in the next day for an interview. It went marvelously, and 30 minutes later a second interview had been scheduled and I had already filled out some paperwork. But the good news didn’t stop there! I got a call that very day about the job I didn’t think I would get due to a 90 day company wide hiring freeze. Not only were they able to free up that position, but it was immediately offered to me! Woo-hoo! I officially had a full-time, salaried position with benefits…and still a second interview for a coffee joint. I called to check if they could work around my new schedule, and when they said they would “for the right person”, I confidently went in. Since my interviewer looked to be a bit of a nerd (I mean this in the most awesomest way possible) I slipped in a Dr. Who reference, and with that I was hired! So, I am now a full-time Volunteer Service Coordinator, and a part-time coffee-house barista (I figured a second job, especially one involving coffee, could help pay off my student loans…of which I have many). After completing my first full week in the working world, I’m still getting adjusted to the new early hours, new co-workers, and a daily commute. So far, it’s been uneventful enough (except for the universe promptly punishing my run of good fortune with a car accident, though no one was hurt) but I have yet to start my coffee gig, so that will change up my routine yet again. In addition to all of that, I will soon be moving in with a new roommate who is just as awesome as me, and together we are resolved to be more socially (and physically) active!

Now, on the road to adulthood, I can envision my goals becoming realities. The other day I even found my mind wandering to the prospect of children (I have no idea where that came from, as I am currently not seeing anyone, nor will I probably have the time with 2 jobs), and though surprising, it was a nice idea….for the distant future. I’m hoping to get in touch with old friends, continue to make new ones, and have amazing experiences whenever I have the time. With a family and children not yet in the mix (or even in view) I am looking forward to the new adventures to come! This SuperGirl with a salary is off, off, and away!

 
Leave a Reply

